THE HISTORY OF BURG SCHWARZENSTEIN
In the course of time Burg Schwarzenstein, "occupy the apple tree crest on the way to Stephanshausen", as the land surveyors wrote in 1879 in the Stockbuch of Johannisberg. Three years earlier, in 1876, the Mumm von Schwarzenstein Family had a romantic castle reminiscent of medieval architecture converted into a summer residence by the architect F. Schädel.
The picturesque structure in a dreamlike location on the heights of the Rheingau, but without social or family life, changed in 1958 with the Sale of the Mumm winery to the Oetker family, including the ownership of the castle. The Hamburg architect Professor Caesar Pinnau, fascinated by the constructional fragment of the castle, designed in the interior of the castle a chic Restaurant to taste Mumm's wines, accompanied by selected dishes.
Since then the castle was renovated in style and elaborately and turned it into a woderful restaurant and hotel complex.
The Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein has been a member of the international association "Relais & Chateaux" since 2007.
Today whole complex is owned by the Family Foundation Burg Schwarzenstein.